Sunday, May 9, 2010

Berserk-ed Medusa

I have been reading manga Berserk for last week. 10 years worth of manga in less than 2 weeks. the starting part, the Golden Age Arc was very intriguing, even with lackluster drawing. it was about a human cursed warrior, who bring doom to anyone close to him. so he was alone fighting the almighty angels the five god hands. he fighting style is anti-hero kind, he even use women as meat shield! i was so excited after completed the first few chapters. i thought i have found another good manga on par of early gantz, claymore and naruto. but berserk quickly become another super-human manga series, the main character become super hero, all ladies fall in love with him, ya the story become dragging and the graphics become nicer and it become a common manga. is the a trend? when graphics becomes better story becomes lousier? just like most of the movies and AAA games.

I also watched Ip man 2, iron man 2 and clash of the titans 2010 this week. disappointed on all three of them at different extend. ip man was a acceptable sequel of the 2008 hong kong block buster, it maintain the standard without any surprises. iron man 2 is much worse than the 2004 classic. it was just a normal super hero movies with the standard flow of story, hero has a problem -> hero was treated by a villain -> hero found a solution -> hero saved the day -> hero kissed a woman -> the end.

but compare to iron man 2, clash of titans is much worse, is almost despicable. i were so sorry to medusa, she was raped by Poseidon, outcast by antenna because of jealousy and killed by the stupid hero perseus just to save a princess, how could a story worse than this?